top of page

When the Disciples Fled

South Mountain Part Two (to read part one, click here)


I finished reading John 14 - 18, as well as the other accounts of his arrest. After the disciples deserted him and fled, I began to run. I ran here and there, ducking under branches, hurdling over thorns. Crossing over paths, I kept to the untrodden forest floor. While descending down a valley, however, I spotted a tree that seemed to glow with ashen leaves, flickering in the gentle breeze.



It was striking - a maturing sapling, sticking out of a graveyard of three large fallen oaks. As I drew near I saw that the 'leaves' were not leaves at all, but flowers.


A cherry tree! I then knew that the Lord was here, and made this place for me.


Climbing onto one of the oaks, I sat under the overhanging flowers. Waiting for me was a fluffy white seed stuck between the branches. Then I knew that the Lord cherished me. Plucking it out, I held it in my hands before letting the breeze take it away.


The death of Jesus is grieving, but from that death came new life - a life of love and tender affection.


Why was this revealed to me on the night I fled with his disciples?


Even when his disciples were fleeing they could not escape the love of the Father.


I am sitting under its flowers now, but it is getting dark, and I must find a place to settle for the night.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page