top of page

The One: YWAM DTS 9

"Who are you, Jesus?" I kept finding myself asking.


"Who do you say I am?" was the answer that would subsequently pop into my mind.


"Who do you say you are?" I'd retort.


"Who do you say I am?" was the reply.


I felt like I needed to read the gospel of John.



Our leaders had given us homework to read one of the gospels, and to then present on our personal findings on who Jesus was to us, looking at what Jesus said about himself and what others had to say about him.


Every time I began to read, I earnestly asked the Lord to reveal himself to me. As I read, I was constantly searching for "titles" that I could attribute to Jesus. By the time I finished, I had come up with 289 titles of Jesus from the gospel of John.


Here are a few that I'd like to share with you. Scroll through and see what pops out!



THE ONE


The one who was constantly asked, "Who are you?"


The one who always answered truthfully


The Logos, the word made flesh


The one who is distinct from God


The one who is God


The giver of life


The light of man


The rejected one


The inviting one


The Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world


God unveiled


The one who sees the "unseen"


A partier


The remover of shrouds


The zealous one who demands reverence towards his Father


One who keeps his promises


The one who, whenever he speaks, reveals something about himself


One who talks to those who people say we shouldn't talk to


The gift of God


The one who offers living water and eternal life


The one who makes people so excited that they forget themselves


One who gains energy and sustenance from doing the will of God


The one who finds what we need in order for us to believe, and then makes it happen to those who ask


One who asks before healing us


One who wants us to request healing


One who gives orders without telling us his full plan


One who gives thanks for providence, even when it doesn't seem like there is enough


The one who never drives away those who come to him


The one who is willing to be consumed


The one who remains in those who consume him


One who did things in secret to avoid attention


One who speaks passionately


One who persists against opposition


One who does mysterious things


One who does not seek glory for himself


The one who the Father seeks to (and does) glorify


The one who constantly battled against us - for us, so that we would believe


The one whose voice his followers know


The one who came that they may have life, and have it to the full


The shepherd of one flock, not many


One who responds to questions of fear with answers of confidence


The one whom the high priest prophesied about - that he would die for the Jewish nation and scattered children of God, to make them all one (for that reason they plotted to take his life).


The one who was condemned to die by the high priest


The one who asks us for confirmation to the words and declarations we make


The one who urges and implores and persists to make himself known to his disciples


The one who we must obey in order to love


The one who will not leave us as orphans


The one who is in swirling conjunction with the Father and Holy Spirit


One who was betrayed by one of his closest friends


The one whose words, "I am he," knocked a detachment of soldiers to the ground


The one whose heart was focused on protecting his disciples while being arrested


The one who took the place of a rebel and murderer who was condemned to die - Barabbas


The one rejected by the people he willingly died for


One who was flogged


The one on whose head was placed a crown of thorns


The one clothed in a purple robe and mocked as King of the Jews


One who was struck in the face


One who had no basis for a charge against him


The one who claimed the authority and deity attributed to Caesar


The one who carried his own cross


One who was stripped naked


The one crucified with criminals


The one who ensured his mother would be taken care of being his passing


The one who gave up his spirit of his own authority


The God who died for his children


The one whose tombstone was rolled away


The one who made his bed when he rose!


The one who appeared to she who wept, and called her by name


The one who times everything just right


The one who reveals himself to doubters


The one whose appearance - once recognized - compelled Peter to spontaneously leap out of a boat into water to swim 300ft to him


The one who prepares a place for us


The one who meets us at our level


The one who commands us to take care of his own


The one who goes on walks with us


The one who - finally - was no longer needed to be asked by his disciples, "Who are you?"



LIFE IS GOOD

This weekend I got to climb four 14ers with an awesome guy named Jordan. YWAM Staff Liz and Steph joined us for the last two, and we got to slide down the mountain!


Since staying committed to pursuing gratefulness and joy, in addition to walking in the truth of who Jesus is, life has been simply amazing. On the way back from the above trip, I was trying to sleep but I couldn't. Why? Because God wouldn't stop showing me the wonders of his artwork as I looked out the window into the valleys and mountains and skies of Colorado - places that I had seen before were filling me with awe.


He delights in me as I delight in him, and his love is unconditional. God is steadily answering my longing prayers for joy. It has been a process for me, but I am so grateful for the journey thus far with him. There's so many more hardships and beautiful things ahead!


The adventures never end.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page